9037 Ron Den Lane, Windermere FL 34786
(407) 876-0750

Main Menu


menu item params = 1
global menu param =

The National Neurotrauma Society offers a limited number of Diversity Fellowships which include funds for registration, lodging, and airfare to attend the annual meeting.


  1. Any trainee from an underrepresented group may apply.
  2. Applicants do not need to be members of the NNS or AANS.
  3. Applicants must be first (presenting) author of a submitted abstract.
  4. Applicants may not have received a Travel Award from NNS in the past 2 years.
  5. There is no limit on the number of applications from one lab, however, no more than 1 grant will be awarded to any one lab.


Step One:  Register and submit your abstract online. Then you will have access to the travel award application form.

Step Two: The online form will collect general information and request that you upload, in PDF format, the following documents (How to convert MS Word Documents to PDF Documents?):

  1. A full curriculum vitae. (Sample CV)
  2. A cover letter containing a statement about your career goals and about how attending the NNS meeting will support these career goals.

Step Three: Submit online form and then view the accuracy of your application. You will be able to edit it until the application process closes.

If there are any questions about the application process, please email them to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

This award was originally established to recognize excellence in behavioral neuroscience. Today, this award represents the top award in the trainee poster competition.

This award was the second named award established by the National Neurotrauma Society. Today, this award represents the second top award in the trainee poster competition.

Dr. Faden is one of the founding members of the National Neurotrauma Society and has mentored numerous students, residents, and fellows at both the pre-doctoral and post-doctoral level.

The National Neurotrauma Society named this award in honor of Dr. Marmarou in 2010. Today, this award represents the fifth best award in the trainee poster competition.

Dr. Hovda’s trainees and colleagues have collectively endowed a Research Excellence Award in his name, because their lives and careers have been influenced directly by his training, mentorship and friendship.

The TEAM Neurotrauma – Visiting International Scholar Award (TEAM-VISA) was established to promote international networking opportunities, and to advance the early careers of women Neurotrauma researchers.

Cranial Trauma & Spinal Trauma Awards

This annual award can be presented at the Annual Symposium to an individual in recognition of their contributions to the field of Neurotrauma.

The National Neurotrauma Society has long been an enthusiastic supporter of its young investigators.  Education, mentorship, and the creation of opportunities have been prominent among NNS members.